TV shows I have always felt were over rated, and yes I have watched them!

ImageImageImage

With the Summer TV schedule finished off, and the Fall, Autumn, whatever season you call it where you are, is upon us, I have been catching up on one show that I never bothered with, yet heard so much about. The Wire. And after finishing it, the first thought that went through my head was, thank fuck that’s over. The second was, why did I sit through it all? And you know what the answer was? Because it was meant to be so good I had to. The critics official ‘Best show ever’ was so good I made myself sit through the whole lot, I don’t even know how many hours it was, waiting for it to get better. But it didn’t. I found myself sitting with a sigh of relief when the ending came. Yet I would fool myself into thinking that the next episode would be the one to make me thankful I kept the faith, rewarded with the best hour of my TV watching week. But it never came.  Instead I was treated to a show that was ‘real’ as they say, was ‘true to life’, was complex and hard to follow and that’s what made it so unique. No, that’s what made it boring. I know what the cops do on a daily basis. I am not that stupid to believe that the everyday world of crime is like CSI Miami, where someone runs a red light and there are 27 helicopters and more Hummers that the US Army owns chasing the offender down, but the main bulk of my TV watching self, and I know I am not alone in this, wanted that to happen whilst watching the Wire. Because it was something happening.

I mean it was good, I’m even fooling myself in this blog, no it was for lack of a better word, crap. And it’s not  alone. The picture at the top of this post shows the two other shows which I thought to myself were crap. The Sopranos. Yes it was good, not as bad as the Wire, but I just feel that it’s title as first or second best TV show ever, before or after the Wire, funny enough, might have been true at the time, but after watching shows that have came about since then, Breaking Bad, Sons of Anarchy, The Walking Dead, Ray Donovan, the show was merely a platform for better TV shows, with violence and inter weaving season long plots. It’s like the Beatles of TV, the only thing like it at the time. Now it wouldn’t stand a chance.

And then there’s Lost. The hype, the mystery, the jungle, the plane crash. What happened to them all? Fucking crap TV and they were dead all along!  Now give me back my Lost hours Fox! Or am I dead and in limbo too, and that’s why I am watching these shows?

Leave a Reply

